News & Press: News

Congratulations to our new Fellow CPHR and the HR Excellence Awards Nominees!

February 28, 2019  
Posted by: CPHR Manitoba

CPHR Manitoba is proud to announce the nominees of the 2019 HR Excellence Awards and recognize the great work of HR professionals and emerging best practices in the human resources profession in Manitoba.

Roma Thorlakson will be granted the Fellow of the Chartered Professional in Human Resources (FCPHR) Award. This is a prestigious award that recognizes CPHRs who have made exemplary contributions to the profession. Roma has been a CPHR since 2006 and is a past Board Chair of CPHR Canada and CPHR Manitoba. While Chair of CPHR Canada, the Association re-branded the designation and brought in new paths to become a CPHR. Roma played an integral role in the development of our current strategic plan and really championed the goal of becoming self-regulated. Congratulations on being granted the FCPHR!

The Professional Excellence Awards recognize individuals who apply their expertise to the objectives of their organization and the people they support. Two Scholarships are also included - one awarded to a full-time student enrolled in a degree program and the other to a full-time student enrolled in an Accredited certificate or diploma program.

The Business Excellence Awards recognize small, medium and large businesses that have harnessed the power of HR to advance their business goals.

Congratulations to our nominees:


Professional Excellence Awards Nominees

Marc Beghin
Brittany Enns
Jennifer Harding
Janice Harper
Jayden Joseph
Claudia Marcaida
Laura Matlashewski
Carina McLeod
Jay Michno
Estelle Moore
Carolina Fierro Vicente

Business Excellence Awards Nominees

F.H. Black & Company
GHY International
Mosaic Newcomer Family Resource Network
The University of Manitoba
The University of Winnipeg


Thank you to all our members who took the time to submit nominations for this signature event. Your enthusiasm, dedication and support towards the enhancement of the HR profession is greatly appreciated.

Please help us in celebrating this upcoming event and all our nominees using our hashtag #HRExcellenceAwards!

The 17th Annual HR Excellence Awards takes place on Thursday, April 4, 2019 at The Metropolitan Entertainment Centre (The MET). This must-see event showcases and celebrates the outstanding achievements in HR throughout Manitoba.

Attend with a guest or your whole team and spend the evening celebrating the HR profession, getting inspired by others' accomplishments this year and planning your nomination for 2020!

Click here for more information and to purchase tickets before the Early Bird deadline, March 8!

Chartered Professionals in Human Resources Manitoba (CPHR Manitoba)
1810-275 Portage Avenue / Winnipeg, Manitoba / R3B 2B3
tel. 204.943.2836 / fax. 204.943.1109 / email.

For additional information please visit: CPHR.CA

People Leading Business.™